Lyme Disease

It’s a Marathon, Not a Sprint 11.12.15

It has been over a year since I have posted! I kept meaning to wrote more posts but I had a difficult time putting thoughts down. It has been a year of highs and lows for sure! Here is a little update on how I am doing and thoughts as I continue on.

In this past year, I have had months where I am in bed or resting at home more then anything else and months where I was able to be more active. Months where I was having more good days then bad and months when the bad occurred more then the good. During the summer, I was going through a better time and decided I was able to try to work part-time. I was a little nervous and was prepared for it to take awhile because I had so many limitations. God is so good! He provided me with a job where my boss knows about my situation and was willing to work with me. I was starting to look for a job in June and started work the beginning of August. Thankfully, I have been able to maintain 20 hours a week. Such a blessing!

August was a month full of change! I started working for the first time after 15 months of not being able to, Andrew started a new job (which is also an awesome God story that I will write on another time), and we signed a lease on a condo. Exciting and overwhelming all at the same time. We moved into our own place in September and we were so excited! It almost felt like it was a first place for us since we had been living with my parents for so long and felt like we were in constant transition. As exciting as it was, it hasn’t necessarily been an easy transition. Adjusting to knew jobs, me just adjusting to working again with my health, and figuring out a routine for the home has been difficult. With all of this, I definitely pushed myself to much and now I am paying for it physically. For our 3 year anniversary, we stayed in town and planned on doing some fun activities, but as usual, we had to adjust those plans due to my health. We were able to enjoy a sunset sail that weekend and so enjoyed it!

Where am I with my health? Currently I am not having as many good days as I used to and the severity of my symptoms have increased to a point that I have not had in a while. When this occurs, it is hard to determine whether it is due to the repercussions of the treatment I am doing, I have pushed myself to much, or if it is an indication that the treatment I am doing is not working. It takes a lot of prayer, learning to read my body, and patience as we continue forward in treating my Lyme. One thing that has significantly improved is my sleep! Some of you may know that I was having some major issues with sleeping. On a level I had never before experienced. I went months of not being able to sleep until 4 or 5 in the morning and sometimes not at all. With the help of a sleep test, we were able to determine what was causing my extreme difficulty and I am taking supplements to help correct it. So far it is working!

God’s presence is what helps me continue. He is teaching me so much. Through this journey, I have felt like I have lost a lot of myself but God is really molding me into the person He desires me to be. I have gained a perspective on things that I never would have if I had not gone through this and God is giving me a heart and passion for new things! In my coming posts, I want to share about some of these things with you. These things include my new found passion for healthy eating, natural remedies, what God is teaching me, what God has placed on my heart for the future, and other random topics. For my next post, I want to share about Essential Oils. They have become a large part of my daily life and have helped me a lot. My mom is the one who introduced me to them (along with a lot of the natural things I do) and I am so glad she did!

Standard

Leave a Reply

