Faith

Finding Rest 4.22.14

Rest has come to hold a new meaning in my life. What does rest mean? According to Google, it is when one ceases to work or movement in order to relax, refresh oneself, or recover strength. I have never been the person who always has to be on the go and doing something, so enjoying down time and rejuvenation had never been difficult for me. But what does it mean for a person who never receives refreshment or strength from rest? 

God is showing me what finding true rest is. I have read over and over Matthew 11:28, which says, “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest” and Psalm 46:10a, which says, “Be still and know that I am God.” but the message of the passages around these verses have never really sunken in until more recently when I started to ask myself this question. As a believer, rest is more than this physical refreshment and rejuvenation. It is about finding our rest in our Savior. Laying down and surrendering all to Christ. Even without physical rest, there is such peace and restful spirit that comes from finding rest in the Lord.

I have a lot of time these days to just be still. Most of the time, I have spent these moments with my mind going crazy, but I am learning to quiet my mind and just be still. It is in these still, quiet moments that I am coming to know my God in new ways. There have been so many moments I have wasted with worry, anger, depression, and self-pity when they could have been restful moments with my God. I am pretty sure that God is going to give me ample opportunity to improve in my journey of going through treatment for Chronic Lyme Disease. My prayer is that I will view this time as an opportunity to know my God in a way I never have before and that, most importantly, He would be glorified through it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

